Hypothetical United Kingdom VAT Issue

Irish Rover

Visit site
There are a couple of real case VAT threads going at the moment and I don't want to derail them by raising red herrings so I'll do so here.
Let's assume I'm a UK resident and I buy a UK based boat, owned by a private individual, which I'm told by the broker is VAT paid. I get bills of sale showing ownership for more than 5 years and any sales were private individual to private individual and no indication any VAT payable transaction took place.
Legally do I need to do more searching? Am I legally obliged to get proof that VAT was not illegally evaded at some point in the boat's history?
If in a few year's time the customs authorities come along and say the boat was brought into the UK without VAT being paid -say 7 years before I bought it - am I liable for the VAT? Can HMRC confiscate my boat?

Tranona

Visit site
No. There is no legal requirement to keep evidence of VAT payment on a boat. The responsibility for accounting for VAT is firmly with the VAT registered entity that sold the boat to the first private owner. A huge number of boats have no evidence of VAT payment, although boats first sold in the last 15 years or so when it started to become "important" to keep the original invoice are more likely to have evidence. The potential grey areas are private imports and boats owned at some point in their lives by VAT registered entities, for example charter boats. However the responsibility for payment rests with the individual who owned the boat at the time of import, not with subsequent owners who bought in good faith. It is possible for HMRC to impound a boat that is the subject of a dispute about historic payment of VAT, but in reality it is extremely unlikely, partly because HMRC do not keep any records of payment for private imports.