River Dart, Singlehander for Newbie

bpbpbp

Visit site
Hi,

I have been sailing seasonly for a couple of years, and am looking to buy a cheap little boat of my own to spend weekends sailing and camping (up to £3k).
I intend to take my Day Skipper this year, Coastal the next.

> Where will I sail? Coastal, estuaries, rivers (Dart, Plymouth, Cornwall)
> How often? Weekends, evenings, a few week+ long trips
> With whom? Mostly just myself.

What I think I want based on my experience of different boats:

- Inboard diesel engine.
- Ability to take the ground in order to access more places (up the Dart, Tamar, and coves between) or if I accidentally go aground as I have done already in a Lugger!
- Decent in light winds, fun, minimal, simple.

There are a few Centaurs around that I could stretch my budget to, but I think they are too big and too much of a family caravan for me right now.
I can't afford a Cornish Shrimper, which looks ideal for my needs, but have seen a great condition Foxhound 24 for a fair price, however it is a fin keel (on a mud mooring).
I was convinced I wouldn't want a fin keel until I improved my sailing, had a bigger boat, and made longer journeys, but it ticks all the boxes otherwise.

Any thoughts on the Foxhound, or suggestions of other boats? I don't think I want to go any bigger right now.

Thanks!

ProDave

Alness / Black Isle Northern Scottish Highlands.
Visit site
At your "up to £3k" budget an inboard diesel is going to be your issue. If you get one that works it is likely to be old and tempremental / unreliable. At that budget I would look for a boat with an OB motor.

Plenty of small cruisers that would do your job within that budget, I would suggest a Leisure 17 might fit the bill. Smaller than the boats you are talking about but good little boats, very basic inside but that would do what you want and cannot be accused of being "a family caravan" but they are good little sea worthy boats.